Quickfire Game Reviews

Right so in this post I’m going to attempt to review the games I’ve played recently in a sentence or less, let’s get crackin’!

(F) = Finished

(U) = Unfinished

Batman: Arkham City (F)

Great game, expands upon Arkham Asylum whilst adding more of a proper free roam setting and keeps the basics the same.

Portal 2 (F)

Much like Batman manages to build upon it’s predecessor brilliantly, some terrific voice acting.

Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas (Replay on PC) (U) 

A brilliant game in its day, looking back at it and realising how bad the graphics are was startling, hasn’t aged too well, have to say that the controls are poorly ported to PC making some missions unplayable.

Diablo 3 (Starter Edition) (F)

Great game, great atmosphere and Blizz definitely seem to be sticking to what they know, at points it does render down to thoughtless button clicking though.

Dirt 3 (U)

Awesome game, Beautiful Landscapes, comfortable controls, great fun and glad to see that the Rally mode is a large chunk of the game, Gymkhana is a nice addition but I’m awful at it.

Torchlight (U) 

(Intentionally) Plays much like Diablo, lovely graphic style and so far hasn’t fallen into the mindless clicking trap of it’s inspiration.

Blocks That Matter(U) 

Lovely game, solid platformer controls, interesting mixture of play styles, beautiful styled graphics and great shout outs to the Swedish Indie game community.

Saints Row: The Third (U) 

The game that was all about comedy definitely delivers in its latest iteration with a much needed new map, same great play style and characters.

Tomb Raider: Anniversary (U) 

Having not played the originals (gasp!?!?) I’m enjoying this game immensely, but at points it does scream re textured remake (which it is), not sure whether or not that is a bad thing though.

LIMBO (F)

Beautifully styled and equaled with its atmosphere, LIMBO is a game that everyone should play, I’d like to think of it as the “Inception” of games.

Jonah Lomu’s Rugby Challenge (F)

Greatly needed new Rugby sim, Graphically adequate, the game play is pretty good, does a good job against a AAA opposition with a shoestring budget, many hours of fun for me and any Rugby (Union) fan i’m sure.

Total War: Shogun 2 (U) 

Another entry into the brilliant Total War saga, having played every iteration since Rome I can’t help but feel that something is lacking in this game, it’s a great game and technically an improvement on Napoleon Total War, but it just doesn’t give me that kick that all of the others have.

Warhammer 40k: Dawn of War II – Retribution (U) 

Only played the Last Stand game mode so far and from the little I know about RTS games I’m having quite a lot of fun from it, I assume that as soon as I play any other game mode I’m going to get my ass handed to me though, Good graphics and the aesthetic seems to fit.

Deus Ex: Human Revolution (U) 

Beautiful aesthetically, that same play style that the Deus Ex fans love and yet still very enjoyable for the Deus Ex noob (me) loving the game so far,   as many have said before me though, the boss fights ruin it (a case study on why you probably shouldn’t out source parts of the game).

Now I know that it may be unfair to review games in a sentence especially when I haven’t actually completed them, I find it provokes a much more honest reaction from me though, It invokes my feelings rather than my analysis for the most part. All of these are just my opinions on games I’ve played recently, I’m interested in feedback in comments.

Russ out!

Leave a Reply

